New Course for Classroom Music Educators

The course I’d like to build is an open course for classroom music educators interested in learning how to include music composition as part of their core curriculum for all students.

##A Little Background
I’m the founder of a nonprofit called Young Composers & Improvisors Workshop with the mission of bringing music composition to the typical music classroom. We offer the program as a free resource to NYC Public Schools. You can learn about the program here: yciw.net
In a nutshell the program combines (1) a progressive curriculum which allows for students with any experience level begin composing, (2) online composer mentoring and feedback and (3) live performance of each student’s composition.

I am a full time teacher at Little Red School House & Elisabeth Irwin HS where I began developing the program in 2010.

##The Course
I’d like the course to help familiarize teachers with not only the technology necessary to implement composition in their classroom but also the progressive techniques that I believe to be most helpful.

##Community
The reason I’m most excited about building this kind of course with the help of the P2PU community is that I want participants in my course to feel apart of a community consisting of other music educators involved in the same pursuit(something that P2PU values and does so well!). I have already set up a Discourse site for YCIW teachers and I’m really hoping to have my Course in a Box hook into it.

#Help!
I’m probably most in need of technical help to understand what possibilities are available. I’m not a web developer at all but I’m a fairly good tinker and I think that if pointed in the right direction I can implement above-average-technically-demanding things…
I’d also love feedback on anything and everything to do with open courses -best practices, common mistakes etc…

#Link to Course
Here is a link to the course:

http://matt5834.github.io/course-in-a-box/